Naming Your Baby – What’s in a Name?

The writer in me loves naming people.  I had names picked out for my babies before I even wanted to be a mother.  Yes, I named my “imaginary” babies. 🙂  When I did find myself pregnant for the first time, the name I had picked out for years flew out the window, and I chose a new one upon finding out our baby would be a girl. 

I had only one important criteria – this name could not be one that my daughter would share with several other girls in her local age group.  I was one of around five Kellis in my school.  My mother swears that she was the first to use the name in our town.  I was the only one to spell it with an “i”.  The other basic thought was not to make it too different.  I definitely appreciate uniqueness, but some names make you want to ask the parents how they chose the name and why.  Old names are ones that I have always appreciated and when I saw a little dark haired, brown eyed girl in the movie “The Songcatcher”, I began to day dream that she held similar features to the little one that grew inside me.  We named our first born an old Appalachian name that we learned from a Hollywood movie. 🙂  She was born with sandy hair and blue eyes, but she was still our Deladis.  Our second daughter is our dark beauty.

Choosing a Baby Name

Naming your baby is an extremely important task.  The name you give them will be something they carry all through their life.  It is the beginning of who they are.  Parents should choose a name that they truly love and respect, and not one they are simply satisfied with.  Choosing a name may take time.  It should be a thoughtful process with everything considered. 

  • How will it be spelled?
  • Is it on the top 10 list for U.S. names?
  • Do we/I want a name that reflects our heritage national/ethnic, religious?
  • How unique are we/I willing to go?
  • How will the name sound with the baby’s last name?
  • Do the initials spell anything?
  • How do I feel about other people who have this name?
  • Do we/I want to use a family name?
  • Will my baby be a junior or II, III?

Websites – Baby Names

Names that Make You Go Hmmm… – Celebrities

  • Michael Hutchence & Paula Yates – Heavenly Hiraani Tiger Lily Hutchence
  • Bono Vox (Paul Hewson) & Alison – Elijah Bob Patricus Guggi Q Hewson
  • Paula Yates & Bob Geldof – Fifi-Trixibelle Geldof, Little Pixie Geldof, Peaches Honeyblossom Geldof
  • Penn & Emily Jillette – Moxie Crimefighter Jillette
  • Jason Lee & Beth Riesgraf – Pilot Inspektor Riesgraf Lee
  • John Mellencamp & Elaine Irwin – Speck Wildhorse Mellencamp
  • Jamie Oliver & Juliette Norton – Petal Blossom Rainbow Oliver, Poppy Honey Oliver
  • What are your favorite baby names?  Do you have a fun story of how you chose your baby’s name?

    Many blessings to you and yours,

    Kelli

    About Kelli

    I am Kelli B. Haywood, LCCE, a childbirth educator certified through Lamaze, a birth doula, and prenatal yoga instructor. My two little girls light my life. I am the wife of artist, musician, and teacher - John Haywood.
    This entry was posted in Babies, Birth Planning, Birth Topics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

    2 Responses to Naming Your Baby – What’s in a Name?

    1. Lindsey S says:

      Re: Whether the name is in the top 10 US names…

      The Social Security website is a great resource for name popularity and it breaks it down by state, which is great since a name that’s hot in CA isn’t necessarily that popular in MS, and vice versa. http://www.ssa.gov/OACT/babynames/state/index.html

      ~middle tennessee gal

    2. eastkentuckygal says:

      I like that site too. I love how you can type in your child’s name, or the name you are considering and see where it ranks, or if it isn’t in the top 1000 in your state. 🙂 That was really important to me.

    Leave a Reply

    